Dr. Saleh A. Bin Nasser

AVC President.

Dear all participating teams and fans,

On behalf of the AVC, I would like to welcome all participating teams and fans to 2016, a very busy Olympic year where thrills and spills have awaited us.

Aside from the Summer Olympics to be held in August in Brazil, many world-class competitions will also take place globally including the FIVB World League and World Grand Prix. In terms of the AVC tournaments, we are hosting six  events this year comprising the 18th Asian Men’s U20 Championship in Chinese Taipei from July 9-17 and the 18th Asian Women’s U19 Championship in Thailand from July 23-31.

Myanmar, which made a significant success in hosting the last year’s Asian Men’s U23 Championship, will take a major step in organising the 2016 Asian Men’s Club Championship during August 23 and 31, while the Asian Women’s Club Championship will be hosted by the Philippines from September 3-11.

Nevertheless, the competitive competitions which can take centre stage in Asia this year will be the 5th AVC Cup for Women in Vietnam from September 12-18 and the 5th AVC Cup for Men in India between September 19 and 25.

I hope all the dedicated working parties will do their best for the sake of volleyball family, with all participating teams coming up with their true form with gutsy display and fair play in an effort of making it one of the most heart-pounding, adrenaline-pumping, exhilarating competitions all fans and supporters have been looking forward to. At the same time, referees and officials must do their best  to help maintain standards of play, while fans enjoy a great show and win or lose, they have to prove their human spirit.

In this auspicious moment, I would like to thank you so much for your participation and contribution to AVC and all AVC competitions and wish all participating teams a great success in every tournament this year and all fans a very happy, healthy and prosperous New Olympic Year 2016. Let’s enjoy the game!

With warmest regards

Dr Saleh A. Bin Nasser

AVC President